East Quogue is a small hamlet 80 miles east of New York City, situated between Westhampton and Hampton Bays. Established in the 1840’s, and originally called Fourth Neck, it maintains a charming small-town pride with historic homes and a friendly atmosphere. Main Street is home to several restaurants, more than forty shops and services, a United Methodist Church, and a Catholic Mission. Also on Main Street is a Town park that has a children’s playground, a walking track, and benches on which to sit and take in the peacefulness of the hamlet. A large fountain surrounded by a stone bench gives a cool vantage point to enjoy the free summer concerts.
In keeping with a long history of maritime activities, East Quogue has a world-renowned boat builder, Aldriches, and a boat yard with sales, service, and boat slips. The East Quogue Marine Park, located at the end of Bay Avenue, provides a panoramic view of Weesuck Creek and Shinnecock Bay, with benches, tables, and barbeques available for picnicking, as well as an 11-slip Town-operated marina, a public boat launch, and a Town dock for fishing. East of the Marine Park, bordering Weesuck Creek, is a 60+ acre wildlife refuge with walking trails open to the public. Kayak launching is permitted, but by portage only, as no vehicles are allowed in the preserve.
Farming began in East Quogue before the Civil War. It continues to this day with Densieski’s farm and seasonal farm stand at the north end of Lewis Road.