For Immediate Release
July 3, 2012
Contact: Jennifer Garvey
Shinnecock Lighthouse Historic Marker to be Unveiled
Saturday, July 7 at 11:00
The historic marker for the Shinnecock Bay Lighthouse that stood from 1858 to 1948 will be unveiled on Saturday, July 7 at 11:00 at the Hampton Bays Coast Guard Station as part of the station’s annual open house. The ceremony will be led by members of the Town Board, the Town’s Historic Landmarks and Historic Districts Board, and the Hampton Bays Historical Society.
At 168 feet, the brick tower was one of the tallest on the East Coast and its flashing light, an improvement installed in 1914, was visible for over 18 nautical miles. The marker was recently purchased by the Town as part of its ongoing efforts to preserve the memory of our local heritage.
Members of the public are invited to attend and celebrate the unique history of this site.