Want to be a lifeguard

2022 Lifeguard Training

2022 Lifeguard Training

Courses Include: Introduction and organization, injury prevention, rules and regulations, emergency planning, first aid, practical skills, and a written test. The surf course includes an additional 8 hours of training on special conditions of ocean lifeguarding. (Both these courses have been approved by the New York State Health Department as meeting the state’s guidelines for lifeguard training.)

Age: Anyone age 16 or over who wishes to work as a lifeguard. Above average swimming ability and physical condition required. Any individual who has not completed a state-approved lifeguard training program, as well as anyone whose previous certification has been expired for more than 12 months, must complete a full course in order to be certified to work as a lifeguard in Suffolk County.

Fee: Residents $200 Non-Residents $250

Place: Hampton Bays Community Center, 25 Ponquogue Ave. and at beach locations.

Students will be given schedule at first class.

PLEASE NOTE: CPR training & testing must be completed in addition to either course. You must register separately for CPR and space is limited. We suggest you register for CPR when you register for lifeguard training.

2022 Lifeguard & CPR Training Dates

Session, Day, Month, Date, Location, Time

  • Session 1: Thursday May 12 – Hampton Bays Community Ctr 6-9pm
  • Session 2: Tuesday May 17 – St. Joseph’s Danzi Ctr 7-9pm
  • Session 3: Wednesday May 18 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 7-8:30pm
  • Session 4: Friday May 20 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 7-8:30pm
  • Session 5: Monday May 23 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 6-8:30pm
  • Session 6: Tuesday May 24 - Hampton Bays Community Ctr 6-9pm
  • Session 7: Wednesday May 25 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 7-8:30pm
  • Session 8: Tuesday May 31 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 6-9pm
  • Session 9: Wednesday June 1 - Hampton Bays Community Ctr 6-9pm

TEST #1 Thursday June 2 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 7-9pm

TEST #2 Friday June 3 - St. Joseph’s Danzi Center 7-9pm

  • Session 10: Monday June 6 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 11: Tuesday June 7 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 12: Wednesday June 8 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 13: Thursday June 9 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm 
  • Session 14: Friday June 10 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 15: Monday June 13 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 16: Tuesday June 14 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm
  • Session 17: Wednesday June 15 - Hampton Bays Community Ctr 6-8pm
  • Session 18: Thursday June 16 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 5-7pm

TEST #1: Saturday June 18 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 8am

TEST #2: Monday June 27 - Ponquogue Beach, HB 8am

ALL CLASSES/TEST ARE HELD RAIN OR SHINE

Stillwater participants attend sessions 1-9 to meet test requirements.

Surf participants attend sessions 1-18 to meet test requirements.


Lifeguard C.P.R. Training

CPR : residents- $90/ non-residents - $110.

As the Town recognizes the need for lifeguards other than our own to become C.P.R. certified at this time of year, a limited number of spaces will be made available in these courses to lifeguards who do not work for the Town of Southampton. Course includes training in the use of AEDs.

SPRING 2022 LIFEGUARD CPR FULL COURSE

You must attend all 3 nights. HB Community Center, Main Dining Hall 6-9pm

Required Classes (Must make all 3 in your session)

  • Session 1: May 2, May 4 and May 6
  • Session 2: May 9, May 11, and May 13

All individuals registering for our Spring Lifeguard Course must sign up for one of the FULL CPR courses listed above - unless you have recently been certified in CPR and AED training for the adult, child, and infant, as well as choking instruction.

SUMMER 2022 LIFEGUARD CPR FULL COURSE


You must attend all 3 nights. HB Community Center, Main Dining Hall 6-9pm 

(Must make all 3 in your session)

  • Session 1: July 6, July 8, and July 11